#1 Ranked Teams

6A #1 Shawnee Mission East (4-0)
Last: beat Shawnee Mission West 42-19

Wyatt Edmonton of Shawnee Mission East rushed for four touchdowns and 114 yards to lead the Lancers to a win over rival Shawnee Mission West, 42-19. Edmonton had touchdown runs of 1-yard, 2-yards, 3-yards, and 15-yards on the night. The Lancers will now get an angry Free State team that was upset 35-21 by Leavenworth.

Next: at Lawrence Free State (2-2)
5A #1 Bishop Carroll (4-0)
Last: blasted then No. 2 Wichita Heights 70-15

After giving up an early safety on an errant punt snap, the Golden Eagles score nine consecutive touchdowns to rout Heights 70-15. Carroll quarterback Colton Howell passed for three touchdowns and rushed for two more in helping his team to a 42-2 halftime lead. Denzel Goolsby scored five consecutive touchdowns spanning the second and third quarters. He finished with 131 yards rushing and three touchdowns and also caught a pair of touchdown passes. Howell passed for more than 150 yards and rushing for just shy of 100 yards on the night. The Eagle defense held Heights to around 60 yards rushing on the night.

Next: Thurs. at Wichita North (0-4)
4A-I #1 Bishop Miege (4-0)
Last: beat then 5A No. 4 St. Thomas Aquinas 37-20

Bishop Miege quarterback Ryan Willis threw for 282 yards and three touchdowns and rushed for 56 yards and another touchdown to lead the Stags to a 37-20 win over St. Thomas Aquinas. Willis' touchdown run early in the fourth quarter expanded the Stags' lead to 37-13. the Stags put up nearly 450 yards of total offense on the night. Dawson Downing rushed for 95 yards and a score and caught four passes for 82 yards and two scores.

Next: vs. 5A No. 4 Blue Valley West (3-1)
4A-II #1 Andale (4-0)
Last: beat then 5A No. 4 St. Thomas Aquinas 37-20

Andale dominated Circle behind another strong ground attack. Senior Hunter Knoblauch rushed for nearly 100 yards and three touchdowns to lead the Indians. Hack Eck broke the 100-yard mark for Andale. The Indians scored 49 points in the first half and held Circle to 133 yards of total offense.

Next: at Wellington (4-0)
3A #1 Silver Lake (4-0)
Last: blanked St. Marys, 40-0

Silver Lake recorded its second shutout of the season after routing the Bears of St. Mary’s 40-0 on Friday night. The Eagles scored all 40 points in the first three quarters on way to the 40-0 victory.

Next: vs. Winfield (2-2)
2-1A #1 Phillipsburg (3-1)
Last: beat Oakley 49-21

Phillipsburg improved to 3-1 overall and in the Mid-Continent League with a 49-21 win over Oakley. The Panthers have won two straight since their 34-7 loss to unbeaten Norton in Week 2. Phillipsburg's offense is averaging nearly 33 points per game on the season.

Next: at Bennington (3-1)
8M-I #1 Hanover (4-0)
Last: shutout Blue Valley Randolph 50-0

Top-ranked Hanover earned its first shutout of the season after a lopsided 50-0 win over Blue Valley Randolph. The Wildcats put up 30 points in the second quarter and took a 44-0 lead into the locker room. Preston Jueneman and Andrew Bruna combined for 252 rushing yards and five rushing touchdowns to lead the way for Hanover.

Next: vs. Mankato-Rock Hills (2-2)
8M-II #1 Chetopa (4-0)
Last: stormed past Uniontown 56-8

Chetopa quarterback Phillip Moses completed five passes for 140 yards and two touchdowns, all to Sherrick Rogers, in leading Chetopa to a 56-8 win at Uniontown. Senior running back Derrick Cassell rushed for three touchdowns, while Moses and Rogers each added scoring runs. The Chetopa defense held Uniontown to just over 100 yards in total offense on 53 plays.

Next: vs. Altoona-Midway (0-4)

Last updated: September 29, 2014 - 05:10 pm